Twin Trees Hotel & Leisure ClubSightseeing Mayo Ireland

Twin Trees Hotel & Leisure Club (formerly Downhill Hotel), Ballina, Co.Mayo, Ireland
Tel: +353 (0) 96 21033 Fax: +353 (0) 96 21338 Email: stay@twintreeshotel.ie

BOOK YOUR STAY

Arrival:
Nights:
best rates available

Sightseeing in Mayo and Sligo

Ceide Fields

The Céide Fields in North Mayo will certainly give you a unique experience. For this is not just another archaeological monument or visitor centre. Here you can indulge yourself in a vast prehistoric landscape, a natural wild ecology of blanket bog, dramatic cliffs and coastline, and a much acclaimed building, which has received Ireland's most prestigious architectural award... 

  

   

Foxford Woollen Mills Visitor Centre

The Foxford Woollen Mills was founded in 1892 by Mother Agnes Morrogh Bernard. In the working woollen mills watch skilled craftspeople produce world famous Foxford tweeds, rug and Blankets. Foxford Woollen Mills also has a well established visitor centre offering tours in English, Gaeilge, French, Dutch, Spanish and Italian. The tours enable visitors to experience life in Foxford since the middle of the 19th century..

 

   

Davitt Museum

Michael Davitt is a famous Irish historical figure. The Michael Davitt Museum is now housed in the magnificently restored pre-penal church in the village of Straide, County Mayo. The Michael Davitt Museum contains an extensive collection of documents, photos, Land Acts, letters, postcards, posters and other items connected with Davitt's life ...

 

   

Fr. Peyton Memorial Centre, Attymass
Fr Peyton was one of Ireland's most famous priests and was internationally known as the 'Rosary Priest'. The Fr Peyton CSC Memorial Centre was officially opened and dedicated on 10th October 1998. The Centre commemorates the life and apostolic work of Fr Peyton CSC. The Centre is a place of respite, prayer and peace. It is highly respected by pilgrims and is a popular tourist attraction...

  

   
National Museum of Ireland Country - Life Turlough Park, Castlebar,Co.Mayo 
Home to the national folklife collection, the Museum of Country Life is the first branch of the National Museum of Ireland to be located outside of Dublin. Visitors to the Museum are encouraged to remember a vanished world of Irish country life between 1850 and 1950, made real again through the vivid detail of domestic furniture and utensils, hunting, fishing and agricultural implements, objects relating to games and pastimes, religion and education, dress and footwear.
   

Knock Marian Shrine & Knock Folk Museum 
Ireland's National Marian Shrine is located in Knock, County Mayo on the West Coast of Ireland and the Western edge of Europe. The Story of Knock began on the 21st August 1879 when Our Lady, St. Joseph and St. John the Evangelist appeared at the south gable of Knock Parish Church. The apparition was witnessed by fifteen people, young and old. From this miraculous occurrence Knock has grown to the status of an internationally recognised Marian Shrine.

 

   

Mayo Heritage Centre and Genealogical Centre 
The Mayo North Family Heritage Centre, situated on Enniscoe country estate, is dedicated to promoting the rich heritage of the region. The centre is one of North Mayo's main attractions, incorporating: a museum displaying an impressive array of local farm and household artefacts; a family history research centre, designated by the Irish Family History Foundation (IFHF), offering a service to people tracing their North Mayo roots;a forge and craft training centre dedicated to developing skills in ancient and traditional crafts; a tearoom serving beverages, light lunches and snacks...

Visit www.enniscoe.com/heritage.html and www.mayo.irish-roots.net for more information.

   

Enniscoe House & Gardens 
Nestled away in the tranquil surroundings of the countryside on the shores of Lough Conn and in the shadow of Mount Nephin, you will find Enniscoe House, Enniscoe Gardens, Enniscoe Courtyard Apartments and Courtyard Hall, The Mayo North Family Heritage Centre and Cloonamoyne Fishery. At Enniscoe there is a Victorian walled garden, an organic walled garden and 19th century pleasure grounds that extend to the shores of Lough Conn. The walled garden dates back to the early 18th century. However, the present focus of the garden is on the Victorian period with plants of that era, and on the many fine architectural features that have been restored under the Great Gardens of Ireland Restoration Programme.

Visit www.enniscoe.com/garden.html and www.enniscoe.com for more information.

   

Ballintubber Abbey 
Ballintubber's history goes back to pre-Christian times. When St Patrick brought Christianity to Ireland in c.441AD, he founded a church at Ballintubber. The present Abbey was founded in 1216 by King Cathal O'Conor. Visitor to Ballintubber can enjoy the Historic Ballintubber Abbey, The Celtic Furrow Visitor Centre, The Ballintubber Abbey Retreat Experience and theThe Tóchar Phádraig...

  

   

The Coleman Irish Music Centre 
The Coleman Irish Music Centre is a celebration of Irish Music, Culture and Heritage as expressed in the South Sligo Style of music played by Michael Coleman and other musicians of his time. This community based enterprise is dedicated to ensuring that the tradition of Irish music remains a living one 'an traidisiún beo' and that it continues to be enjoyed by all ages and nationalities...

 

 

 

Book your Stay at The Downhill House Hotel Today and Enjoy all that Mayo has to offer!
View Sightseeing in a larger map